A Scam: Don’t Be Friends With Andrea Dias (Unless You Already Are)

March 5, 2009 at 7:16 pm Leave a comment

I just received a request from Andrea Dias to be in her network of friends on Facebook!  How exciting.

The link to “sign up for Facebook” according to the come-on e-mail is ” http://www.facebook.com/p.php?i=1506829882&k=3VFZ33USSVVM5F1DXAVUSS&r “.  [Note that I inadvertently clicked on the link while copying it.  Some sites just require a visit, and microseconds.  I broke the link on this.  If you cut and paste this one into a browser address bar, be aware you have just committed yourself to hosting badware.  Don’t say you weren’t warned.  And I’ll be running bloody scans on this computer.]

The correct IP address according to Google is “http://www.facebook.com/r.php””.

Note too that the fake address just adds some stuff onto the facebook address, which isn’t an uncommon trick.  The unwary user–one step up from completely uneducated–can be completely faked by something like this.  This was just useful as an example.  Real one, too.  I got it about 20 minutes ago or so.


Entry filed under: computers/tech, current news, internet, internet security, psychology, social networking, writing and lack of thought.

Facebook: The First, Primary, Top Danger Work At Home: Could-be Gold Mine, Often Scam

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

%d bloggers like this: