“A New Viewer”

March 18, 2009 at 3:59 pm Leave a comment

If you go somewhere and are alerted that “You must install this software to watch this video” or something of the sort–don’t.  The chances are approximately 99.99999% that the site you are visiting is trying to install badware.  In order to leave a page of this sort, it is much safer to use “ALT+F4” (close) than to use your mouse on any portion of the page you just visited.  If you have installed WOT (Web of Trust) or Haute Secure and are presented with a warning screen that isn’t necessary.

The reason you don’t want to use a mouse click on a page of that sort is that quite probably any click will install the badware anyway.


(I’d imagine this is old hat for most.  Sorry for any repetition.)

Entry filed under: browsers, computers/tech, current news, how to, internet, internet security.

Fake Bomb Alert=Attempt to Download Code Curious about SQL attacks?

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

%d bloggers like this: